Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you have been following my blog you may have gotten some incomplete posts. Apologies for that. I think WordPress (the blogging platform I am using) has changed its format so I am still getting used to it.

Anyway, I finally have the chance to share more images from my visit to that quintessential American city, Chicago. Chicago is known for its architecture and public works of art so I wanted to be sure to experience it more intimately. There are many companies which offer tours on the Chicago River regarding the history of the buildings along the water, but friends suggested I take the tour by the Chicago Architecture Foundation. I was delighted to learn later that the foundation offers all kinds of tours: walking tours, bus tours, short tours, long tours – from art deco specific tours to trips to Frank Lloyd Wright’s works. I will definately participate in these events when I return. The tour was terrific and the weather was glorious that day. Here are some of the images I captured:

This was the first mention on the tour, the Wrigley Building.

The Willis Tower, formerly known as the Sears Tower stands tall on the left. It is supposed to be the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere.

The “El”, or Chicago train.

Yes, this view was along the river.

Perhaps re-visiting the eighties here.

And finally Trump Tower Chicago above and on the left, the Wrigley Building on the right. Both buildings are along Michigan Avenue. Trump Tower Chicago is the second tallest building in the United States of America after the Willis Building which was pictured above.

I’ll be back soon to post more images from Chicago.

