Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been five days since I’ve returned from Lana’i in the Hawaiian Islands. I’ve shared my experience with some friends and I’ve gotten a lot of *gasps* for choosing to go it alone at the Four Seasons. Not sure why. I think it’s a fantastic opportunity for any solo woman traveler who wants to experience a world class resort in a not so common tropical destination overrun with volumes of tourists. And this was a luxury experience with tremendous value.

First, Lana’i is a safe place. Lana’i is one of the eight islands making up the Hawaiian Island chain or Hawaii. And as such, some may not be aware it is the 50th state and part of the United States of America which is generally considered a safe haven. I did not feel unsafe at any time. It’s also, for the most part a privately owned island.

  No sign of Safeway, Starbuck’s or McDonald’s.

   

  

There is a feeling of “Old Hawaii” which pervades the whole island and no one seems to be on a schedule. I found this cool postcard at one of the boutique stores in the town center which captures the essence of this place:

There were also plenty of activities which are offered by the Resort. I chose three: clay shooting, archery and lounging/dolphin spotting on the beach at Manele Bay.

  Archery at the Lana’i Pine   Sporting Clays at the Lana’i Pine

Lounging around and dolphin spotting at Manele Bay.

I also appreciated the simple things like strolling through the huge landscaped “backyard” at the Lodge and reading in a comfortable shaded deck area at the front of the property.

     

I would highly recommend this retreat for a solo woman traveler who seeks understated luxury in a tropical setting. The island does feel private. And the Lodge at Koele offers a very comfortable environment for a solo guest. I did not feel awkward, self-conscious or strange at the property or at any of the activity sites. Choosing Lana’i would be quite a different option for those who prefer the activity in a more commercialized Honolulu or the more common Hawaiian Island destinations of Maui or the Big Island. I felt like I was on my own private island.

